Tales from the Trail of a YA Author – Only in LA!

Where else but in Los Angeles can you rub shoulders with a best-selling author turned director in the daytime and then a rock star in the evening?  I had the great honor of meeting Antwone Fisher, a director, screenwriter, author and film producer http://antwonefisher.net/ at one of my own author library visits this past week.
Antwone’s 2001 autobiographical book Finding Fish was a New York Times Best Seller and the 2002 film Antwone Fisher was written by Fisher about his own life and directed by Denzel Washington.
Antwone’s story follows his heartbreaking childhood in foster care. Antwone was discovered by Hollywood while he was working as a security guard at the Sony Pictures lot. I remember hearing about that when the movie came out.
While I was speaking at Playa Vista Library, thanks to the great librarian Shannon Salmon, this past week, I met a wonderful teenager who was extremely interested in the writing process. She told me both her parents were writers. I asked what kind of writers they were and she told me her dad was a screenwriter and that he was Antwone Fisher! He came by later and we chatted a little about publishing and other things. He’s a really nice guy! Like I said…only in LA!
And then later that night, I was invited to the 50th anniversary of the Sunset Marquis Hotel in West Hollywood, where Julian Lennon was performing with Steven Tyler of Aerosmith!
I interviewed Steven last April and he was super friendly Saturday night as you can see from this photo!
Tyler
Quite a funny day!! Here’s my story from April! Write on folks!
http://in.reuters.com/article/2013/04/16/music-aerosmith-ascap-idINDEE93F0CZ20130416

Leave a Reply

