Tales from the Trail of a YA Author – Magical week

 

What an incredible week I’ve had! I started it off at the free incredible concert by Elton John at the USC Thornton School of Music!

He rocked out like there was no tomorrow but he was also incredibly gracious and grateful to be playing at such a beautiful venue. I had so much fun walking around campus ahead of the show. Elton paid tribute to all the students  and youth in general and played a lot of old hits as well as new songs from his new album.

He told the audience to “listen to everything!” Dont be dismissive even if you don’t think you like someone or a type of music or writing or whatever. He said you can at least learn from listening and opening up your mind and heart to things you ordinarily would dismiss. I really liked that message. And I guess that’s why he’s so great. He also told everyone the reason he didnt pursue a career in classical music was because he has fat “sausage” fingers.Anyway, here’s my article from the evening.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/09/18/entertainment-us-eltonjohn-idUSBRE98H00220130918

TWo days after that, I got to visit the incredible Chandler School in Pasadena. What a great day! The kids were just amazing and the school is beautiful. The students asked such awesome questions!! I I have to give a big shout out again to Ashley Laird. What a wonderful teacher she is!  I hope I have another opportunity to visit with those kids again!

Image

And then on Saturday,  I went with my office and family to the Hollywood Bowl for the Sound of Music Singalong. It was such a gas!!

 Well, I’m catching my breath now as I gear up for a big author day in Rancho Santa Margarita on Sept 30! First, I’m speaking to students at Rancho Santa Margarita Middle School, followed by a writer’s workshop at the RSM Library, care of Julie Fitch. And then, I’ll be signing books at Peet’s Coffee House in Laguna Nigel!! I’m stoked! Please drop by!!

Leave a Reply

