Tales from the Trail of a YA Author – New York, New York

There’s no place like home and no place like New York — which still is home in my heart and was where I grew up and lived for most of my life before I moved to Los Angeles. I love LA too, but boy do I get homesick when I go back to the Big Apple.
Had a great time this past week-and-a-half bopping around the city and Long Island. So much to do, so many people to see, so many, dare I say…. great cultural moments!
In just one day, I got to enjoy the legendary Vanguard Jazz Orchestra, which plays every Monday night at http://www.villagevanguard.com in Greenwich Village, heard from a fellow YA Writer about http://www.Wattpad.com, a great place to discover and share teen fiction, and learned that my friend, accordian player extraordinaire Art Now, (who also taught me the Art of Writing Songs), was interviewed by a reporter for the New York Times Music Section. Check him out in the article called “Showing Off the Accordion’s Hip Side.”
Art Now was also seen performing on NY 1, New York’s all news TV station, playing accordion. Here’s the link to the Times article: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/06/27/arts/music/showing-off-the-accordions-hip-side.html
If you click on Art Now’s name in the article, it will direct you to YouTube, where you can watch him performing with the 14 piece, all-woman, all-accordion, Main Squeeze Orchestra.
As Art Now says: “If you can make it here (New York!) you can make it…anywhere???”

Leave a Reply

